There are a lot of reasons you might be thinking about deleting your Facebook account — perhaps you think you spend too much time on it and want to take a social media cleanse, or maybe you and your friends have already stopped using it, so there’s no reason to keep it around.
It’s important to understand deleting your Facebook account is different from deactivating your account — once deleted, it can never be recovered.
Download our complete productivity guide here for more tips on improving your productivity at work.
Which means, if you’re intent on getting rid of your account for temporary detox purposes, you might want to consider alternative methods to detoxing from social media without deleting anything.
But if you’re sure you’re ready to leave the world’s most popular social media network, it’s a simple process.
Keep in mind, if you delete your Facebook, your photos and all your Facebook information will be lost forever. If you want to save that information, I’d suggest downloading a copy of it.
To download a copy of all your Facebook information, go to “Settings” and click, “Download a copy of your Facebook data,” and then, “Start My Archive.”
This will ensure you can still find all those awkward middle school photos, years down the road.
To find out how to delete or deactivate your Facebook account, or delete a group or page you’ve created, read on.